Support Resurgence now Buy this issue: 292

Article availability

Free to view

Free to view for E-members

Not available to view

Reprint permissions

My Resurgence

Register for a free copy

Related Pages

RDM Revival

Artists Project Earth New Album. Help us to help them...

Green Books

Book reviews

We present a selection of our reviews covering significant, groundbreaking books and films that are often ignored by the mainstream media. The reviews include those that have been published in the magazine and additional reviews that for reasons of space we were unable to publish in the magazine.

Reviews from the past year are shown below. Older reviews are listed separately. Reviews can also be located through our article archive search facility.

Latest Reviews

Adventures in the Anthropocene: A Journey into the Heart of the Planet We Made by Gaia Vince

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Reviews > End of An Epoch?

Degrowth : A vocabulary for a New Era by Giacomo D'Alisa, Federico Demaria & Giorgos Kallis (eds)

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Reviews > Words to Change the World

Ecozoa by Helen Moore

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Web Exclusives > Review > An Ecozoic Imagination

Natural Capital: Valuing the Planet : Valuing the Planet by Dieter Helm

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Reviews > The Price of Everything

Plankton: Wonders of a Drifting World by Christian Sardet

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Reviews > Get the Drift

The Anthropocene: The Human Era and How it Shapes Our Planet by Christian Schwägerl

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Reviews > End of An Epoch?

The Buddha on Wall Street: What's Wrong with Capitalism and What We Can Do about It by Vaddhaka Linn

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Reviews > There Are Alternatives

The Cultural Lives of Whales and Dolphins by Hal Whitehead and Luke Rendell

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Reviews > Sea Creatures, Sea Cultures?

Toms River by Dan Fagin

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Reviews > Toxic Legacies

What Nature Does for Britain by Tony Juniper

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Reviews > The Price of Everything

Reviews from the past year

A Philosophy of Walking by Frédéric Gros

Issue 288 • January/February 2015 > Reviews > Feet First

A Rough Ride to the Future by James Lovelock

Issue 288 • January/February 2015 > Reviews > The Prophet of Gaia

Betrand Russell: A Pacifist At War by Nicholas Griffin

Issue 290 • May/June 2015 > Reviews > A Passion For Peace

Beyond Economics and Ecology: The Radical Thought of Ivan Illich by Sajay Samuel (ed)

Issue 286 • September/October 2014 > Reviews > Excavating Buried Assumptions

Capital in the Twenty-first Century by Thomas Piketty

Issue 286 • September/October 2014 > Reviews > The Wealth of the Few

Climate-challenged Society by John S Dryzek

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > Climate Questions and Rather Harder Answers

Collision Course: Endless Growth on a Finite Planet by Kerryn Higgs

Issue 289 • March/April 2015 > Reviews > The Growth Delusion

Distant Neighbors: The Selected Letters of Wendell Berry and Gary Snyder by Chad Wrigglesworth (ed)

Issue 290 • May/June 2015 > Reviews > A Convivial Conversation

Don't Even Think About It: Why Our Brains are Wired to Ignore Climate Change by George Marshall

Issue 289 • March/April 2015 > Reviews > Putting Our Heads in the Sand

Earth User's Guide to Teaching Permaculture by Rosemary Morrow

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > Back to the Roots

Ecology, Economy: Quest for a Socially Informed Connection by Felix Padel, Ajay Dandekar and Jeemol Unni

Issue 286 • September/October 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > Indian Predicament

Farmageddon: The True Cost of Cheap Meat by Philip Lymbery & Isabel Oakeshott

Issue 288 • January/February 2015 > Reviews > Speaking Up For Fish and Bees

Grassroots Postmodernism : Remaking the Soil of Cultures by Gustavo Esteva and Madhu Suri Prakash

Issue 289 • March/April 2015 > Reviews > When Promises of Progress Fail Us

H is for Hawk by Helen MacDonald

Issue 288 • January/February 2015 > Reviews > Hawk on the Wild Side

Hearing Our Calling: Rethinking Work and the Workplace by Gill Coombs

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > Redefining and Revaluing Our Work

Himalayan Sound Revelations: The Complete Singing Bowl Book by Frank Perry

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > Bowling With Angels

Holonomics: Business Where People and Planet Matter by Simon Robinson & Maria Moraes Robinson

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > Following Nature's Systems

Home Country by Richard Mabey

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > Senses of Place

Honourable Friends? : Parliament and the Fight for Change by Caroline Lucas

Issue 291 • July/August 2015 > Reviews > Friends in Strange Places

I Spend, Therefore I Am: The True Cost of Economics by Philip Roscoe

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > A Dismal Science, Settled By Spreadsheets

In Defence of Life: Essays on a Radical Reworking of Green Wisdom by Julian Day Rose

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > A Rebellion of the Spirit

John Muir: The Scotsman Who Saved America's Wild Places by Mary Colwell

Issue 291 • July/August 2015 > Reviews > A Voice for the Wilderness

Jungle Trees of Central India: A Field Guide for Tree Spotters by Pradip Krishen

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > Fresh Leaves From the Jungle

Landmarks by Robert Macfarlane

Issue 290 • May/June 2015 > Reviews > Words of Wonder

Meadowland: The Private Life of an English Field by John Lewis-Stempel

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > Senses of Place

Monuments by Jay Ramsay

Issue 289 • March/April 2015 > Web Exclusives > Review > The News Behind the News

Nicaragua: Surviving the Legacy of U.S. Policy by Paul Dix and Pamela Fitzpatrick

Issue 289 • March/April 2015 > Reviews > Still Hoping, Still Suffering

On Silbury Hill by Adam Thorpe

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > Senses of Place

Pathlands: 21 Tranquil Walks among the Villages of Britain by Peter Owen Jones

Issue 291 • July/August 2015 > Reviews > Meditation on the Move

Pioneering the Possible: Awakened Leadership for a World that Works by Scilla Elworthy

Issue 291 • July/August 2015 > Web Exclusives > Review > A Directed Change of Consciousness

Proteus and the Magician: The Letters of Henry Miller and John Cowper Powys by Jacqueline Peltier (ed)

Issue 288 • January/February 2015 > Reviews > Wise Old Codgers

Rainbow Warriors: Legendary Stories from Greenpeace Ships by Maite Mompó

Issue 290 • May/June 2015 > Reviews > Sailing To Save The Planet

Realizing Hope: Life Beyond Capitalism by Michael Albert

Issue 290 • May/June 2015 > Web Exclusives > Review > Four Steps To Hope

Restoring the Soul of the World: Our Living Bond with Nature's Intelligence by David Fideler

Issue 289 • March/April 2015 > Reviews > A Question of a Good Story

Revival and Resilience: Community Stories in China by Cheng Ying (Executive editor)

Issue 286 • September/October 2014 > Reviews > Forgotten Inheritance

Rising Ground: A Search for Spirit of Place by Philip Marsden

Issue 290 • May/June 2015 > Reviews > In Search of Place

Sacred Seed by Vandana Shiva et al

Issue 290 • May/June 2015 > Web Exclusives > Review > Grains of Truth

So Far from Home: Lost and Found in Our Brave New World by Margaret J Wheatley

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > What Matters Is Now

Soil, Soul, Society by Satish Kumar

Issue 286 • September/October 2014 > Reviews > A Trinity for Our Time

Spindrift: A Wilderness Pilgrimage at Sea by Peter Reason

Issue 286 • September/October 2014 > Reviews > The Living Sea

The Adventurous School: Vision, Community and Curriculum for Primary Education in the Twenty-first Century by Jane Reed (ed)

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > A New Vision of Learning

The Art of Mindful Baking by Julia Ponsonby

Issue 289 • March/April 2015 > Web Exclusives > Review > Returning the Heart to the Hearth

The Beautiful Risk of Education by Gert J J Biesta

Issue 289 • March/April 2015 > Reviews > Teach Yourself Wisdom

The Burning Answer: A User's Guide to the Solar Revolution by Keith Barnham

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > A Bright Solar Future

The Burning Question: We Can’t Burn Half the World’s Oil, Coal and Gas. So How Do We Quit? by Mike Berners-Lee and Duncan Clark

Issue 286 • September/October 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > The Burning Question

The Future of Development: A Radical Manifesto by Gustavo Esteva, Salvatore Babones and Philpp Babcicky

Issue 289 • March/April 2015 > Reviews > When Promises of Progress Fail Us

The High Oak: A Journey across Dartmoor by Jamie Grant et al

Issue 290 • May/June 2015 > Reviews > At The Edge Of Our Imagination

The Illusion of Separation: Exploring the Cause of our Current Crises by Giles Hutchins

Issue 291 • July/August 2015 > Reviews > Illusions of History

The Living Goddess: A Journey into the Heart of Kathmandu by Isabella Tree

Issue 290 • May/June 2015 > Reviews > A Divine Child, A Dynastic Massacre

The New Sylva: A Discourse of Forest & Orchard Trees for the Twenty-First Century by Gabriel Hemery and Sarah Simblet

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > Trees of Enchantment

The Soil Will Save Us: How Scientists, Farmers, and Foodies Are Healing the Soil to Save the Planet by Kristin Ohlson

Issue 288 • January/February 2015 > Reviews > The Answer Lies in the Soil

The State Is Out of Date: We Can Do It Better by Gregory Sams

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > The State We're In

The Unselfish Spirit: Human Evolution in a Time of Global Crisis by Mick Collins

Issue 288 • January/February 2015 > Web Exclusives > Review > Doing - with consciousness

The Wisdom of Trees by Max Adams

Issue 289 • March/April 2015 > Reviews > Seeing the Wood for the Trees

The Zero Marginal Cost Society: The Internet of Things, the Collaborative Commons, and the Eclipse of Capitalism by Jeremy Rifkin

Issue 286 • September/October 2014 > Reviews > Is Empathy the New Oil?

Think Like a Commoner: A Short Introduction to the Life of the Commons by David Bollier

Issue 288 • January/February 2015 > Reviews > Shared Wealth Need Not Be Lost

This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate by Naomi Klein

Issue 289 • March/April 2015 > Reviews > Pantomime, But No Laughing Matter

Turnaround Challenge: Business and the City of the Future by Michael Blowfield & Leo Johnson

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > Economies of the Future

Walking the Woods and the Water: In Patrick Leigh Fermor's Footsteps from the Hook of Holland to the Golden Horn by Nick Hunt

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > In Famous Footsteps

Young Eliot: From St Louis to The Waste Land by Robert Crawford

Issue 291 • July/August 2015 > Reviews > From Despair to Reconciliation

Go to older reviews.